SWU-MATIAS H. AZNAR MEMORIAL COLLEGE OF MEDICINE Topped and Dominated the Medical Research Contest in the Visayas Region



dr oclarit

The Association of Philippine Medical Colleges (APMC) – Student Network had just concluded its 4th Regional APMC-SN Convention held at Iloilo Doctors’ College of Medicine in Iloilo City last Nov. 13-15, 2015.  The main highlight of the said convention was the Medical Research Competition which was participated by ten (10) medical schools in the Visayas region.During the preliminary elimination, the organizers have carefully screened the finalists,  employing  a double-blind selection – which means that no names of medical schools and authors of papers were mentioned.   Selection was based on the merit of the research submitted.  From almost 40 papers that were submitted, five (5) finalists were named as follows:  3 papers were selected from SWU-MHAM CM and the other 2 papers came from the West Visayas State University College of Medicine. And during the convention proper, all the 5 finalists presented their research papers and were judged by 3 scientists from the Southeast Asian Research Center and from the University of the Philippines (Visayas).  The SWU-MHAM College of Medicine  emerged as No. 1 and No. 3 of the top three research papers to be submitted as qualifiers for the 49th APMC National Convention to be held at San Beda-College of Medicine come February  3-5, 2015.  The second place was garnered by the West Visayas State University College of Medicine.

Emerging as No. 1 winning paper is entitled: “Virgin coconut oil (VCO) as nephroprotective agent against  Cisplatin induced kidney DSC_0622damage” authored by John Paul de la Cruz (as lead researcher), Edelle Marc Paculba, Mariza Eliza Zosa, Ayeza Cabarde, Jemimah Flor Perocho.

The No. 3 winning paper was entitled:  “Anti-inflammatory property  of Passion fruit-leaf extract  and non-steroidal  anti-inflammatory drugs in carrageenan induced inflammation in male albino mice”  The lead researcher  is Mr. Daniel Panaglima,a 3rd Year Medical student of SWU-MHAM CM.  His co-researchers are the following:  Ma. Janielou Ocampos, Stephanie Ong, Jon Dominick Perral, Aldin Piamonte, Candy Krista Pilapil, and Ceylon Quinnie E. Prayon.

On another development, SWU-MHAM College of Medicine as ranked 3rd in the Medical Quiz Bee during the same convention, Nuttawut Tuppila, Jemimah Flor Perocho,  and Panaglima Daniel.